measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I love my mother, but...

Sometimes I want to smack her silly.

Last night I finally got around to returning her call from last Tuesday evening. I'd been meaning to all week, but with how busy we were last week, I really didn't have a chance to call until after 9 p.m. every night-- and my mom is an early to bed, early to rise sort. Calling her after 8:30 is starting to cross the "too late" line for her.

Which really sucks for me, because it doesn't give me much of a window. Especially if I'm busy.

So I finally call her last night around 7 to catch up, say hi, etc.

Me: So how are you, Mom?

Mom: Oh, I'm fine. Just recovering.

(pregnant pause inserted here)

Me: Recovering? From what?

Mom: (in a completely no-big-deal tone of voice) I had emergency surgery last week on my nose to remove a squamous cell from the inside of my nose. They found it on Tuesday afternoon when I was getting a check up on a basil cell on the outside of my nose, and since the squamous cell is a cancer that can spread, they needed to take it out right away. They took a skin graft off the back of my ear to reconstruct things... they'll do the basil cell later since they don't grow very fast.

Me: MOM! Why the hell didn't you tell me?

Mom: I'm fine. Nothing to worry about.

.

.

.

No. Nothing to fucking worry about. Regardless of how "serious" it might be, my mother's getting CANCEROUS CELLS taken off of the inside of her nose. And she has ANOTHER ONE (the basil cell) still to be taken off.

No. Nothing to fucking worry about. We won't get into the fact that my grandmother (her mother) just died from the complications of cancer about nine months ago. Not to mention that basil cells and squamous cells are SKIN CANCER.

She didn't think I needed to be called.

Christ on a crutch.

So anyway... she's saying she's fine. They removed the packing from the inside of her nose yesterday morning. It's still sore, but she's healing well. But on top of all that, she's been dealing with her tendonitis in her right knee and had to get fluid drained from it last week. My mom's in all sorts of shambles with nose packing, knee and ankle braces. She hasn't been to work in over a week. The neighbor is walking the puppy for her because she's not getting around well.

Realization of parental mortality is a bitch.

I realize that she doesn't want me to worry-- and I'm sure that between her nursing training and her doctor, she is probably fine. Apparently the cell was barely an eighth of an inch in diameter-- but because it was inside her nose, she could feel the irritation and asked the doctor about it.

But still, it's the fucking principle of the thing.

*sigh*

With that venting over with, I also have to say that my mother is a loony. A loveable one, but a loony. During the same phone conversation, we switched topics to Florida and the impending vacation...

Her: You know, you guys don't even need to bring bathing suits. You won't need them for the pool.

Me: *just laughing* Well, we need them for the beach, Mom.

Her: Well, that's true. But you really won't need them for the house.

My. Mother. Is. Telling. Me. To. Go. Skinny. Dipping.

Why. Is. My. Mother. Telling. Me. To. Go. Skinny. Dipping?

(shudder)

Isn't this the woman who's supposed to be chastising me for having sex before marriage? Is this the same woman who thought I was completely innocent at age 22?

Talk about a 180 degree turnaround. No, Melissa-- go out. Frolick naked in your grandfather's backyard naked with Erich. It's okay. In fact, I encourage it!

And I wonder why I'm a bit off-center.

*snort*

10:30 a.m. - 27 April 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda