measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sisterhood

Busy, busy weekend... that wasn't gaming related for once! :) Actually, it was a great weekend. I'm wiped, but hopefully a couple good nights' sleep (hah! me?) will help that a bit.

First off, though, since I've gained about a half-dozen new friends on livejournal via degree on Saturday... *waves to everyone*

Saturday was predominantly taken over by the third degree initiation ceremony for the Alpha Alpha class of ΤΒΣ. I hadn't been to a third degree ritual in eight years-- frightening! But I was pleasantly surprised by it-- the active sisters (and recent alumni) worked hard to update the supplies for ritual degrees. Everything looks much better than it did when I was active. Ritual items (and their condition) tended to make several of us wince. I think that the ritual was done in a much classier fashion than what I recall from my active years-- which makes me quite proud of them, yet I still felt like something was missing from the goofiness of before. Being the only "old" sister, I did notice the absence of Irene's additions to the sorority songs that usually made us start laughing in the middle. Not that a more classier tone is necessarily a bad thing, though.

While I'd met some of Omega class before, this was the first time I was really meeting any of the actives or "current" alumni. Which was weird, because I've been reading several of their journals for a while now, and it didn't feel like a first meeting in any respect. ariestar, myownwench and I sat in the back row like good, responsible adult alumni (heh). Both of them are definitely the torch carriers of the "bad sisters" crowd that I hung out with in college, which is DEFINITELY a good thing. Heather should be quite proud of her great great grandlittles. :) They follow in her footsteps.

Photos, nicknames, etc. were done after degree... Brand new Sister "Gag" (aka whishastar has her selection of photos here. (for my online friends who haven't seen me before... it's not the best photo, but I'm in the alumni photo kneeling, wearing a red sweater and black pants).

Obligatory Unos dinner came afterwards... in which I was able to meet the band director, Chris, who was an honorary initiate yesterday, and have a brief but good chat about band, the sorority, and where things are/were. I can honestly say that given his enthusiasm and excitement at initiation, the sisters look to be in very good hands. That, above all else, gives me relief. They have a band director who supports the sisters, understands the need for them in the band, and now *is* one so he can stay right in context with everything that the sisters are doing and be able to support them easily.

This is a Good Thing.

After that, ariestar, myownwench, slywinkle, Ian and I went to paint The Rock (tm), since someone had sprayed a rather craptacular advertisement over the fraternal beauty that it is. It was a rather momentous occasion for me, as I had never painted the rock with my pledge class-- nor at any time afterwards. So I was "deflowered" by Tau class. And we got some great photos... I just need to upload them to my laptop this evening. :) The Rock, for the non-BU readers of my journal, is literally... a rock. It's a free-standing rock on the corner of Comm Ave. and the BU Bridge into Cambridge. It currently stands a bit shy of three feet high and is painted almost daily by different fraternities and sororities for some plugs, some school spirit, etc. With the layers of spraypaint that are on that rock, the original rock is probably the size of your average skipping stone for a river. Ian joked that he wants to take a core sample of it to see how many layers are actually in there. (a lot)

Anyway... hopefully today's rain has allowed our painting to stay up for a day. :)

After painting, we all dispersed-- the recent alums and actives needed to crash after sisterhood night that kept them up the entire night before, and I was getting tired myself.

Sunday was my day of hell cleaning out the corner of all of my paper supplies. It took All. Day. But I got it done, dammit.

And now it's a miserable rainy day. I have a new cold sore (yuck) and I'm in dire need of a masseuse. I expect a blond Viking man named Hans to be waiting for me when I get home. (Or Erich, wearing a wig).

~ Mel.

2:33 p.m. - 26 April 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda