measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Being Girly

Three years at Diary-X. Scary!

.

.

.

I'm happy-- the hairstyle stayed after I washed it this morning. Only a couple of layered spots wanted to flip out the opposite way while my hair was wet, but by the time it dried, everything fell into place.

Good. Because I'm not a hair-styling sort of girl. If you want a good laugh, watch me battle with a round vented brush while juggling a hair dryer. Coordination?

Heh.

Needless to say, I'm not the girliest of girls around. I have my moments, but I never was into the hair and makeup like the rest of the girls at the slumber party. I did wind up being the head model for hair, since I had the thickest hair (and usually the longest) in the bunch. But I was too much of a tomboy to get into all of the glittery, girly things.

I was the one who got her bra stuck in the freezer because she fell asleep first at sleepovers. Given that I was the first of my friends to even WEAR a bra (at age 10... sigh), my friends and classmates had many more opportunities to freeze my underwear than the others.

Don't get me started on my "fantastic" ability to put on makeup, either. I used to sneak it on when I was 11 or 12 before going to school. But once my mom allowed me to wear some light makeup in 7th grade, I stopped wearing it. I think I was more interested in sneaking it than actually wearing the stuff. Besides, I was used to having a bit on me since I was 5 with dance classes and performances, because it was required for the illusion of stage presence.

I realize that I have four days to learn how to use eyeliner without looking like a raccoon hit me. I'm scared of the stuff- my mom used to put it on for dance performances when I was really young, and the feeling of that pencil against my eye creeped me out. I refused to let her put mascara on my lower lashes.

But I have a big event this weekend that requires formal dress... and that means... makeup. *sigh* Since I hadn't used any of my current stash in a long time (literally couldn't think of when I'd last used it), I threw it out and bought new stuff. Between the colors and the risk of bacteria growth on things (especially mascara), better to start from scratch.

But as I tested my newly bought makeup colors this weekend to see how things look, I realized I needed to get the eye pencil to pull it off. Otherwise I have a white line between my lashes and the beginning of my eye color. Real slick. Bleh. My black cats might pull off the white eyeliner look-- but not me. So I picked up a dark brown pencil... and tested it again. And now I am putting it on too heavy-- and my hand doesn't seem steady enough. The line was going all over the place. And the dark brown was much too dark for my lower lid.

I looked like a really bad whore wearing tasteful color choices... or someone who was completely drunk when she applied makeup. Seriously.

At least I made the right choice on the eyeshadow and blush choices. I need to get a darker lipstick-- I went far too light.

Grrr... don't. like. being. girly.

All of this to make myself look presentable in a non-geek gathering. Although technically, it is still a geek gathering of sorts... just band geeks instead of gamer geeks.

The mutual Tau Beta Sigma / Kappa Kappa Psi 20th anniversary celebration at Boston University is this weekend (the actual anniversary for TBS was last month on the 11th). And a drinks/dancing/dinner cruise is being held in Boston Harbor... formal dress. Ivanna's coming up with her boyfriend. Erich's going with me. And some of the sisters who are going to be there are people I haven't seen since I was a junior in college. It's kinda scary. To my knowledge, I'm the only one of my pledge class going... but considering who was in my pledge class, that doesn't surprise me, either.

And Erich will get to see that horrifying side of me that is completely girly-- being a sorority girl.

eeep.

11:22 a.m. - 30 March 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda