measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Feeling Naked

After many, many months of self-debate and finding the courage...

I got my hair chopped off yesterday. And when I say chopped, I mean chopped-- it was at my waist. It's now above my shoulers. 14 inches in all. 11 of which is gathered in a very thick (inch and change diameter thick ponytail) and is being sent off to Locks of Love to help kids with alopecia and cancer for wigs.

My head now bounces. It's an extremely odd feeling. I have this urge to poing around just to feel how it springs against my head. But I think my co-workers would look at me funny.

I love the haircut. I'd had the same boring haircut for at least 10 years with little variation-- slightly layered, thick bangs in front, straight cut around the back with super long hair. Now it's cut with a myriad of layers, curving down toward my neck. My bangs were so long when I went in yesterday that many of them just were brushed into the layers, rather than trimming them. The stylist thinned them out so things are even around my head. Since my hair is stick-straight and very, very thick, I had to get the layers or else I'd have a wedge-shaped cut sticking straight out from my scalp.

The funny thing has been my co-workers' reactions. Lots of "Whoa!" abounds this morning. Two people have cried, having been jealous of the long hair. Everyone seems to really like it (including the ones who were jealous). Poor Jason keeps getting harassed in his cube since a lot of people see it as I drop stuff off to him. His job makes his cubicle a high-traffic area.

I will miss the braids and ponytails for a while, but to be honest... I wound up throwing it in an unattractive, low ponytail so often just to get it out of the way that it made no sense to keep it.

Plus, I'm nearly 30. It's long past time for me to get a different haircut than I had when I was 18 (or even 16, since it still was similar).

Pardon me as I bounce for a while.

(and yes... before and after photos were taken... they'll be posted tonight...)

11:26 a.m. - 29 March 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda