measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Book inhalation, Measi style

I've been a voracious reader since the age of five. Anything I can get my hands on, I'll read. Can't find a book I've been reading? No big deal-- I'll just start another one.

It generally means that I have two to four books going at any one time, since I always, always NEED something to read over lunch on the workdays, and often leave the main novel at home. The newspaper, a book, whatever. If I'm not reading over lunch, I feel twitchy.

Yesterday was one of those twitch days-- I didn't have one of the three books that I was reading (dammit), so before grabbing lunch, I headed over to CostCo and grabbed The DaVinci Code-- an easy choice since it was on my " to read" list anyway.

Oh. My. God.

Best novel I've read in a long, long time. I inhaled this book-- I finished it by 9 p.m. last night-- literally the book I could not put down. I read through lunch. I kept sneaking reads through the rest of the work day. I even (bad Mel) read while stuck at the obnoxiously long lights on my drive home. And it wasn't my general speed reading where I often don't remember points of what happened-- this book sucked me in and kept me there.

I think what really sucked me in was that this was an intelligent book-- a fictional story, but with obvious research put into the story to actually give the reader some hypotheticals about real life to consider long after the book has been completed. I appreciate writers who actually work to craft a tale, rather than just tell a story. In this case, the thoughts pertain mostly to the life of Jesus-- and for sake of spoilers for anyone who hasn't read the book (which you should go do... now), I'll be putting them in a linked (but not main journal) entry over the weekend when I have some time to sit and get thoughts out.

I'm a sucker for mysteries that involve the infamous secret societies of history-- the Illuminati, the Knight Templars, the supposed darker side of the Free Masons, etc. The twists of religious orders that both spawned and entwined these societies grip my imagination. It's like reading stories on the mafia, yet these brotherhoods are even darker-- tangling themselves with perhaps one of the most intimate of human thought-- religious and spiritual faith.

So it was probably a given that I was going to enjoy this book, provided that it was written relatively well.

But still-- to be swept into a book like I was was exciting. It hasn't happened in a long time...

10:40 a.m. - 11 March 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda