measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snot girl strikes again...

I'm in disgusted awe at how much gooey crud the human body can produce. It's absolutely disgusting. Bleh. I'm convinced there's some cosmic black hole inside my sinuses from which mucus comes forth. There's simply no other explanation for the volume of snot that seems to be packed in there.

bleh bleh and double bleh.

In all seriousness, I'm definitely doing better. I haven't woken up coughing the last couple nights. In fact, last night I slept through the night-- which is a rarity in itself on my most healthy days. I'm still cruddy and coughing, but so far today they're not the wracking, rattling dry coughs from the bottom of my lungs. I'm counting my blessings since my diaphram hurts like hell from this past weekend's bouts.

One of these days I'll be better... honest. In, oh... May or so.

*sigh*

~~~

Today is "Super Tuesday" in the political world, and Massachusetts is one of the ten states holding its primaries/caucuses.

I was a good citizen this morning and went to the local high school to vote in the primaries. It was dead quiet, as expected. It should come as no surprise that I chose to vote in the Democratic primary. Since Dean is out (even though he's still on the ballot), I voted for Kerry.

It amuses me every time I've gone to vote there-- they figured out the foolproof way to vote. No chads, no expensive touch-pads on computer screens. They give you a legal-sized piece of pink cardstock paper that has all of the options printed on it, and you use a black marker to fill in the ovals next to your choices.

Simple, straightforward. If someone can't figure this out, there's some comprehension problems on the part of the voter that (with all seriousness and compassion) should be addressed.

It kinda goes along with the "sometimes simple is the best way" example that Ethne gave the other day.

I'm a bit mixed on my opinion about Kerry-- I agree with the majority of his policies, but not all. I don't agree with his stance on the gay marriage issue, but I can tolerate someone open to civil union concepts (which leaves the door open to improvement) a bit better than I can tolerate anyone who supports federally legalized segregation & second class citizenship through a new amendment to the Constitution.

My words stumble on the issue because it makes me so angry. So rather than fumble around for what I really want to say, I'll refer you to Wil Wheaton and more personally, Minarae (who has written a rather powerful letter that I feel anyone should read).

Regardless, I voted for Kerry because I do feel he's the Democrat that has the best chance of winning and is someone who I feel comfortable supporting in the national elections. I maintain my liberal, yet unproclaimed party status, but I realize that in the current political climate, the Democratic party best reflects my ideals and hopes for our nation.

As long as King George IV is dethroned in November, I'll be happy.

~ Mel.

10:00 a.m. - 02 March 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda