measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We need a vat of Lysol

The last few days have been a test of my immune system. Ugh. I'm home today-- working at the PC rather than in the cubicle to save my co-workers ears from the sound of me hacking up a lung. Gus, meanwhile, is tearing apart our apartment... I'm sure I'll spend as much time cleaning up after him as I will getting work done. *sigh*

Last week started with Erich getting some sort of a bug over Valentine's Day that knocked him out for the better part of the weekend. He just slept-- didn't sound bad, but took five hour naps every day. Of course, on that romantic evening, there were a few kisses exchanged, which led to the brewing of illness #1.

On President's Day, Erich and I went to see Master and Commander in the theater with his father-- good flick, had fun. We come home to see Jason sprawled out on the couch looking like hell-- this was illness #2. Sweating, hacking cough, god knows what else. This led to him staying home from work on Tuesday, being sent home Wednesday, and then again on Thursday.

By Wednesday, I'm kicking myself because I know it's a matter of time before I get hit by one of these things, and I just braced myself.

On Thursday, I started having stomach pains, felt drained, and felt a bit congested. I decided to stay home to see if I could beat this thing.

Friday, I felt worse. Stayed home again.

On Saturday, the joy of being female began... and I mentally kicked myself because all of the aforementioned symptoms could easily have been due to PMS.

Sunday, I started developing a deep chest cough. Fuck.

Yesterday, I went to work, but by lunchtime was sweating and hacking and feeling disgusting. Linda sent me home around 2. I had the presence of mind to gather all of the backlogged data entry and other work that I can do at home and threw it in a box to bring home with me.

Last night, I started feeling like ASS. Completely stuffed up head. This lasted into the night, where I was up every couple hours to cough, take meds, or just get out of the room so I didn't wake up Erich. And the problem is that I cannot take Nyquil at all-- I am the poster child for "if nervousness and sleeplessness occur, discontinue use." I climb walls on that stuff. I understand what an acid trip entails, thanks to Nyquil. *shudder* If I ever feel the need to go on an acid trip, I can just take that foul stuff.

This morning, I feel a bit better, but my cough is worse-- bad enough to really make people worried if I went to work. With how tight deadlines are, I can't afford to get anyone else sick right now. But I can't afford to take any more sick time right now-- because I don't want to run out of all of my sick days by mid-February.

But I realized that I *can* get work done, not take a sick day, and just get it done at home. All of that stupid data entry work that I never can find time to do because people are in and out of my cube all day... I can go a bit slower than usual with it, but still be productive and not feel guilty about my two mistimed days last week.

Still, I'm irritated about this cough... I don't want to be dealing with another round of this like I have so many times. *sigh* It'll last until April if I'm lucky.

*sigh*

9:09 a.m. - 24 February 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda