measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To ΤΒΣ - ΗΓ on its 20th...

I rarely talk about my experiences as a sorority girl. In a lot of ways, I am not exactly the type of girl who would go out for a sorority-- I'm a bit too introverted. I'm honestly not all that great about hanging out with girls (the VAST majority of my friends are guys), and I've always disliked being part of a designated group...

Which is, by all counts of irony, why I joined Tau Beta Sigma (Eta Gamma chapter) as a freshman in college. I pledged over the winter of my freshman year (since TBS only had one rush per year). And since it was somewhat of an anti-sorority sorority... being for band geeks and all... I felt cool with it. I also felt that it might kick me into gaining more female friends. Which it did... somewhat. Although as the years went on, I felt more and more annoyed with some of the other sisters, and became disenchanted with everything due to a couple members in particular.

I finally gave up and left during the last semester of my senior year due to a lot of infighting in the chapter-- which had grown to a slightly more than dull roar due to years of frustration within our ranks and in the relationship with our brother organization, Kappa Kappa Psi.

The vocalized tension that caused the infighting was that KKPsi had started to allow female members, which put the female-only TBS in a bit of a predicament. KKPsi was the social group-- big drinking parties, tended to be pretty rowdy (if not obnoxious at times). TBS, however, tried to emphasize service to the band... taking care of uniforms, keeping things organized, etc. The unspoken issue was simply an internal identity crisis-- which was sad, because we *had* our separate identity right there in front of us. But dwelling on the KKPsi issues had blinded us to finding that core identity and made us look like a group of whiny bitches and... dare I say... typical sorority girls.

Unfortunately, there were members of my pledge class who had wanted to become members of KKPsi, but at the time the fraternity was still male-only, so they weren't allowed. I remember a girl named Laura specifically saying that the only reason she was going into TBS was because she couldn't join the fraternity. She said this the night before the third degree ritual-- the one that makes pledges new members. It struck me as obnoxious then. In hindsight, allowing people who weren't committed to becoming members of TBS was probably one of the biggest problems-- members who don't really want to be a member, but are taking the only option they have aren't going to be that productive. If I recall, Laura disappeared completely by sophomore year. I don't even remember if she came back to Boston University.

On top of that, we had the typical girl infighting-- people snarking about each other. Personality differences, etc. They happen in any sorority, I'm sure-- but when your entire membership is only about a dozen or so people, the camps become too polarized, too quickly. By my senior year, it was clear that the members of the chapter could hardly stand each other-- it was gasping for breath to survive, and I was clueless as the membership chair to see that no one was going to join an organization with the problems we had.

I occasionally have wondered what would happen had I decided step up and take on the presidential mantle for the chapter when one of my pledge classmates had to resign due to her courseload. I'd decided instead to keep the membership chair position-- which honestly, I probably wasn't suited for at all. (and was told later by several members-- both alum and current, that they'd hoped I would have moved into the president position since the majority of people felt I was the most approachable of the current members).

In any case, I don't regret pledging, nor being a member. Right before Yule, I treated myself to a letter sweatshirt, since the only other set that still survives from my college days doesn't fit anymore. I have my wonders about things that happened during my senior year, and any implications it had on Eta Gamma in the next couple years as the chapter completely imploded, save a single member. Thankfully that member (Becky) rekindled the fire of the chapter, and now it's going stronger than it ever was during my time. I can only hope that it will continue to grow.

So today, as the chapter marks its 20th anniversary, I look back with some pride, some regret, and some hope.

Congrats, Eta Gamma-- May the future years continue to shine on you, and let the musical beat go on...

In the bond,

Melissa

Sister Klutz (no... really... ask Ivanna)

Xi (Ξ)Class

ΤΒΣ - ΗΓ

11:00 a.m. - 11 February 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda