measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's been productive

Heh, I was blasted last entry. Whoops. :)

Rule of thumb-- never, ever create drinking games on the fly. Especially two-player card games like War. I went downhill fast. And paid for it all day yesterday as the remnants of tequilla in my stomach threatened to cause body upheaval.

Gah.

Amid the stomach sickness, Erich and I were extremely productive yesterday. Jason (aka LGM, who I'm just going to forget calling my an acronym from now on-- he knows I have this thing) is down in New York for the weekend, and as a promise to him, we got some stuff out of the second bedroom so it becomes his bedroom, more than just Jason's stashed in the computer room (as he has been).

We relocated a bookshelf onto a new wall out in the living room, putting it where the Christmas tree had been. Then we moved my desk out of the computer room and placed it in the corner next to the entertainment system in the living room. It's right near the sliding glass door now, but since our balcony is on the north side, the glare from outside is minimal. In a way, I have my own cozy little nook again. :) It's also beneficial because we're always lacking for chairs and table space during gaming sessions, and with my computer desk and office chair out here, it created an immediate extra space.

It also freed up the kitchen table-- somewhat, anyway. Until we moved my desk, my new PC had been sitting on the kitchen table since it made no sense moving it into Jason's bedroom. The table's still covered with penpalling shit, but I hope to fix that issue between tonight and tomorrow, when I do some serious paper cleanout.

And other than a few little household basic chores (catbox, bathroom, laundry, dishes, etc), then I'm free to play the rest of the weekend. :) Productivity plus slackertime-- the perfect combination of a long weekend off.

My slacker time has been spent primarily emmersing myself in Uru, the latest game from the makers of Myst. I finished the basic game this afternoon, although I have some things I want to go back and update (little extras I missed along the way). I received my invite for the beta version of Uru Live this afternoon, and am excited to get it to work well-- it's been lagging a bit this afternoon, but considering it's still in beta, I'm not that concerned.

This is the gaming series that hooked me to computer games-- back in 1993 when Myst came out, I was fascinated with the concept and the backstory of the setting-- exploring unlimited numbers of worlds (called "Ages" in the game), solving logic puzzles, and just allowing myself to be enveloped into another reality for a while. I could see a fantastic role-playing game that was focused on logic and mystery (rather than the classic epic fantasy with battles) come out of this. I also have an interest in writing fanfiction based on the setting, considering how open it is for imagination.

I'll have to see what happens...

7:36 p.m. - 02 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda