measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today's Conversation

Coworker (from another department... I've never seent his woman before): "Melissa-- hey...(goes into a random tangent about some reports she needs for her manager... I find them, send the files to the printer, and then she notices a Wheel of the Year graphic on my cubicle) what is that weird graphic you have tacked up on your cubicle?"

Me: "Oh, it's a picture of the cycles of the year... I have it up to add some color to my cubicle."

(my cubicle needs no color-- thanks to the hideous "modern" colored box of manila folders I received from our supplies office that now sit in my hanging folder files on my cubicle walls... modern translates to the 1980's colors of teal, hot pink, grey, black, and purple, mind you. They're deadly... but effective when I need people to sign things. Apparently no one else wants such deadly colors on their desks, either. I'm getting stuff back very quickly from signature routings these days)

Coworker: "But it's not of the seasons-- it has eight spokes."

(yeah, here it comes)

Me: "It's a seasonal calendar according to my faith-- the regular seasons are on there, too-- they're the background squares. See?"

Coworker: "Oh, yeah..." (notices the less-than-opaque wash of snow, rain, falling leaves, and green grass in the background quadrants) "But what the heck is... Mah-bon?"

Me: "May-bon. It's a harvest holiday in September."

Coworker. "Oh... yeah... but where's Easter?"

(Oh, here we go...)

Me: "I don't celebrate Easter... not religiously, anyway."

(insert music of doom here... the clouds darken over my cubicle, and the thunder begins to roll)

Coworker: "You don't? But everyone celebrates Easter!"

(don't get me started...)

Me: "I'm not Christian-- it's simply not my holiday. I enjoy the candy and all, and celebrate with my family because many of them are Christian, but it's just another Sunday to me."

Coworker: (starting to get that "oh, you're one of THOSE" looks on her face) "And what about Christmas?"

Me: "I celebrate Yule, four days before... and it's a very similar holiday. Just not Christ related."

Coworker: (starting to really get disgusted) "But Christmas IS all about Christ."

Me: "For Christians, yes, it is... and should be. But I am not Christian, so it's a secular holiday for me instead. Presents, the tree, family and friends getting together... but that's about it."

Coworker: "You're going to hell, you know that right?"

Me: "I'm quite certain I'm not, actually." (I begin giving my "warning... you're getting very close to THAT line" look)

Coworker: "So what are you?"

Me: "I'm Pagan." (generally goes over better than coming outright with "I'm a witch" from my experience)

Coworker: "And you have no problem with proclaiming yourself a Pagan?"

Me: "No, why would I have a problem with my own faith?"

Coworker: "Because you're following the path of evil!" (her voice is getting a bit loud at this point... drawing the attention of another co-worker... this time IN my department)

Department Coworker: "Sorry to cut in... Melissa, XXX called (a problem vendor we are dealing with) again, and I need your help resolving his contract. Can we get this out of the way this morning?"

(at this point, the original Coworker is glaring at me as if I were some spawn from hell)

Me: "Sure. Actually, let's take care of that right now because I have a really full schedule today." (turning back to other coworker) "Those reports you need should be on the printer."

Coworker: (still glaring at me, unwilling to lose this "crusade" of hers) "I'll grab them in a minute. You know, you really should take that graphic down. It's disgusting."

(now.. mind you... this graphic is about 4x4 inches in size and is sitting in a spot of my cubicle wall that you physically have to come stand BEHIND me in my cubicle-- then look over my computer to see on the inner corner of my cubicle-- it isn't visible to anyone who walks by, nor anyone who just pops by my cubicle to ask a question... I keep it subtle in the corner)

Me: "It's a difference of opinion, I suppose. Do you have anything religious in your cubicle?"

Coworker: "Of course."

Department Coworker: "Then what's your problem? Unless you have a point, go get your reports and leave-- or I'll make a call to your manager to complain."

(original coworker glares, and goes to get her reports)

I thank my department coworker, and we head to her office to get said vendor issue done with.

I come back to my cubicle, and my graphic has been ripped off the wall, replaced with a "Jesus Loves You, Sinner" taped in its place.

So how many steps do YOU think it took me to get down to HR (only to find that everyone in HR is out today)?

Oh, and the graphic has been reprinted and replaced where it was. I've also uploaded the graphic to storage on my personal webspace that I never use anymore, since I see this brewing.

Ah yes... we have a new fundie in the office. How joyous.

12:01 p.m. - 05 December 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda