measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now I know where I get it...

Phone call from mom the other night... "Just checking in... blah blah blah... oh, and I'm going to be the mommy to a new collie doggie on Thursday."

*blink*

Mind you-- my mom has talked about getting a collie for YEARS... at least since I was around 13 or 14, when she was just settling into living in California. But at the time, she was living in townhouses, and then when she had a house, it didn't have a yard-- just a back patio. So she really couldn't get a collie-- no room for it, and to be honest, she really didn't have the time, either.

Whether she has the time is still up for debate, but she does have the house for a doggie now. However, she also has three cats-- all of which are VERY furry (2 Himalayins, a monsterous mountain of a Maine Coon... and occasionally a second Coon when Jim brings his cat over). Adding a Collie to that mix...

Well, at least we've established that my mom doesn't have pet hair allergies, no? ;)

So she's picking up an 8-week old female Collie today. Her name will be Shanti (inner peace and tranquility in Hindi... I think my mom was listening to Madonna's "Ray of Light" album when she got the idea). She's already rearranged her eat-in area off the kitchen for a puppy pen, and bought double the pads and things she'll need to housetrain her.

Apparently Shanti looks a lot like the Collie we had growing up-- sable and white like the stereotypical Lassie dog, only Shanti has some white around her nosepad.

I'm just waiting to hear the results of introducing this ten-pound ball of wiggle to the cats... the two Himi girls are both 14 years old now. I'm sure they're going to be... thrilled. Heh. Yeah, right. Archie might like having a playmate, though-- he's so much like a dog as it is.

And then people wonder where I get my animal addiction-- I blame my mom. No question-- I get it from her. Just like Erich gets his love of cats from his mother.

Sheesh... needless to say, I guess there won't be trips with our cats made down to mom's anymore unless it's absolutely necessary. Colley (as opposed to the dog), Fizz, and Gus will be happily remaining in Massachusetts. We really don't need six to seven (if Jim's Harley is there) cats plus the Collie running around that place. Can we say absolute mayhem?

eep. *shudders to think of the hair*

Mom did let me know that they put Kalla (see last entry) to sleep early this week. Apparently Grandpa had found blood drops on the floor, and she was bleeding-- probably internally. I'm sad, but it was the right thing to do because there was no way she was going to get better. Acting humanely sometimes is difficult, after all-- she was getting too ill to go outside, and was getting too ill to get out of the basement on her own.

So Grandpa is looking forward to this puppy, too. Hopefully it will bring some joy to him during the holidays with Grandma gone. I know that having Gus be there literally right after Grandma's funeral helped me a lot-- it just reinforces that life does go on and is reborn.

I'm excited to see Shanti... I doubt I'll see her before she starts getting pretty big, though. We don't have any plans for trips to PA much before Easter (when she'll be VERY big).

... off to work... lots to do today....

10:38 a.m. - 04 December 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda