measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scattered Thoughts

Thanksgiving is fast approaching, and like everyone else I'm rushing to get work done so I don't have to see it on Monday when I return to the office. I'm not sure why I do this-- but I hate coming back from a long weekend to a stack from hell. *shrug* So far it's looking like I'll be okay *knock on wood*.

The LAN party this weekend was fun-- we spent most of the time playing Halo with a bit of Ghost Recon and Unreal Tournament thrown in there. I managed to squeak out 6,000 words (roughly) on the novel, bringing me into the mid 30K range... I'm still behind pace by a few thousand. I'm hoping I'll still make it, although I admit that I'm mentally burnt and won't be surprised at this point if I don't clear 50K. Part of me really wants to finish it, but part of me honestly doesn't give a shit given the month I've had.

Just. Tired.

The Jeep is currently at the body shop closest to our house, sitting lonely in the parking lot staring over the main square of town. The bad side is hidden from street view. I went last week to fill out some paperwork at the body shop to authorize them to look it over. I also cleared everything *out* of the Jeep in case it's determined that it has been totalled. The body shop owners think I'll squeak just under the "total" amount... but honestly that only gives about a $1,000 cap off of the initial adjuster's estimate, so we'll see. *shrug* In the meantime, LGM has been doing the drive to work every day. I've been behind the wheel of the car three times since November 7th-- and I've been paranoid driving. *sigh*

Fizzy seems to have come down with something... we're taking her to get checked out at the vet tomorrow. Erich noticed her drooling a bit on Thursday night, and then on Friday I noticed she seems to have an irritated digestive system based on the litterbox (eeewwww....). Her activity seems to be okay, and she is eating and interacting with everyone, so I'm hoping it's just something temporary and not something more serious.

Gus, on the other hand, is doing quite well-- he's four months old already, and now looking like Fizzy, only slightly smaller and wirey since he's still growing. We'll be taking him back to the vet tomorrow night with Fizz so he can get his second distemper shot, get weighed, etc. He's the purriest cat I've ever known, and already is a lap cat-- this guy's going to be the one we're trying to get rid of from our laps once he gets older and wants to suck body heat all the time. I woke up this morning to find him curled inside the crook of my arm under the comforter this morning. Ah yes, we have another snuggle slut on our hands... both male cats (what IS it with male cats, anyway?). And Mr. Gus will be getting brought in a couple months to get snipped... since he's getting a bit... nubby. ;)

And yes, I'm starting to seriously get them confused. We're in for a tough time once he gets to full size. Eye color, contrary to what I thought, is NOT enough to tell these guys apart unless I really look.

Erich and I are headed down to Pennsylvania for the long weekend-- leaving Wednesday, coming back Saturday. I'm a bit worried about the tone of the holiday, since it is the first one for the family after Grandma's death (which sometimes I still feel like I can't believe). Hopefully things will go okay.

In case I get too crazy and don't get an entry in beforehand... Happy Thanksgiving to all who are celebrating. Happy weekend to those who aren't.

And Belated Happy 30th birthday to Ivanna. :) My condolences, dear-- you have to grow up now. (ducking)

~ Mel.

4:06 p.m. - 24 November 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda