measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Soaking serenity

Four a.m. or so this morning, parts of Massachusetts got whacked by a doozy of a thunderstorm. Being the light sleeper I am, I was up as soon as the torrent of rain started coming down-- the fact that water was dripping on my face through the open window helped, of course.

I got up, instinctively closed windows, closed the screen door, and made sure both of my cats hadn't freaked out and gotten them stuck on anything-- like the ceiling. Thankfully Colley was playing it cool, lying spread-eagle on his back in the small hallway between the bedrooms. Fizzy, on the other hand, was not a happy camper. She was crouched on the back of the couch, tense as hell, with her usually thin tail puffed out in an attempt to make it turn into a pipe cleaner.

Erich, mind you, slept through the whole thing. That man would sleep if a bomb fell in the room.

At times the bolts were so frequent that the sky was consistently lit up by that odd white-blue electric glow that only happens from lightning. The thunder rumbled, but I suppose we really didn't get the brunt of the thunder and lightning because it never really got close to us. One of my coworkers went to turn a light on in her house, but the bulb burnt out. Apparently at the same time, a huge crash of thunder shook her house. She admits to releasing a slight shriek.

The lightning kept me from falling asleep for a while. But honestly, it had been so long since I'd seen a powerful thunderstorm that I was somewhat excited to just sit there, look out the window, and watch it roll by. After determining that the rain wasn't angled in a way that would come directly into the living room, I opened the door back up and just listened to the rain pelting down. Colley came up on the couch next to me and curled up to my hip, showing me that beneath the macho cat, there was a little one still afraid of Mother Nature's fury outside. Fizzy refused to move, even if her tail did return to its normal shape and size. And the three of us just sat there in the living room, watching the rain pour down over still mostly dark building and streets. I found it odd that it really wasn't a windy storm. Just a ton of rain-- it came down in buckets for a good five to ten minutes. And then, almost as quickly as it came, it stopped.

I turned on the Weather Channel to see if any other batches of rain were possibly arriving before the alarm went off at seven. There weren't, so I reopened the windows and went back to bed.

A short amount of time to just sit and watch the awesome power of Mother Nature when the rest of the world seemed to be sleeping. Sure, I'm a bit sleepy today because of the interruption, but I got to watch a beautiful thunderstorm race across the sky.

~ Mel.

1:57 p.m. - 23 July 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda