measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

but there's somewhere that I'd rather be...

Fridays in the summer are a bit of a joke in many ways at work-- lots of busy work while watching the clock. Not that the busy work is a bad thing. It actually does help me get caught up on things. Especially now that I know that I have Box Hell coming in the next couple weeks.

Twelve file boxes of contracts and invoices from our Illinois office that's being closed down. *sigh* I get to go through all of it, refile it and contact all our vendors.

Yay.

Thankfully I've been able to get some new file cabinets and my own little corner of the building for said cabinets-- which means I can start getting some of the crap OUT of my cubicle that I already have. But it's all busy work. And it seems to be the story of my life for Fridays. Sometimes I think I should have just worked four-day workweeks for say, ten hours per day, and just stayed home Friday.

But sadly, it can't happen. Fridays also tend to be the day where a lot of weird crap goes down because people need to fit those "oh, I forgot about that" meetings in. Which means I need to be around to order food and whatever else needs to be used to bribe people into staying past one in the afternoons. Lately it's taken serious pizza. My department seems to be particularly fond of shrimp & artichoke heart ones from Not Your Average Joe's. (I personally love the BBQ chicken... thankfully others in my department do, too).

I'm dreading these Twelve Boxes of Hell that will be arriving any day now. I have hanging folders, manilla folders, and labels ready to go-- everything will get sorted and filed. I refuse to have cardboard boxes lying around here any more than I have-- I hate the feeling of working in a place that looks like the storage closet, even if it is an adminstrative desk.

Other than the Boxes of Hell, work is going okay. It's growing more and more insane every day, but that's not surprising considering that our upper management has these driven goals for us-- but can't seem to quite communicate what said goals are to us in the trenches. My cubicle has become as much a counseling center for frustrated designers as it has a place for me to push all the paperwork that needs to move in various directions. I'm getting people from other departments, too, who are gravitating to me to talk.

I am going to hang that Lucy Van Pelt sign up one of these days... charge a quarter-- that way I'll have the change to do laundry at the end of the week.

Only two and a half more hours. Then I'm free.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And come on... become my vampiric minion. You know you want to...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And a huge shout out to a new project at Diary-X called Penpals. If you like writing to folks... I warn you now, getting the world to write to you is a nasty but quite cool addition. I've been involved since 1982, and it's still just as fun as it was when I was eight. :)

10:32 a.m. - 13 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda