measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Performance Reviews Day

Today was that oh-so-wonderful day of the year where all of the coworkers bend over and allow themselves to be whipped a bit, in the form of the dreaded yearly ritual: The Performance Review.

Somehow, I seem to have met all of my objectives for last year... even though I don't quite recall what they were. *shrug* But hey, I'm not complaining.

Bottom line-- the carrot of that financial job is being held in front of me again as the goal for the next year. According to the descriptions given by our counterpart office, I'm already doing ALL of the work required for this new position, or at least the foundation of all of it, but I just am not of the level to have any authority over it. I'll be traveling to the other office at some point soon to do a day-trip to discuss this new position. And supposedly, this will go into effect gradually throughout the year.

Part of me is really excited if this goes through. Although a lot of me wonders if it's the continually dangling carrot. Part of me is worried because it becomes a question of job security. As an admin. assistant, I'm pretty stable here. As a financial coordinator, is it that secure a position? Particularly when the economy isn't looking like it's going to improve anytime soon, thanks to ol' Dubya.

I never thought I'd be working in a financial sort of role after college. I went to school to be a writer-- maybe an editor. Never a financial person. In fact, during college my classmates at the College of Communications (COM) were happy to declare that we, the students in COM, also happened to go to the College of Optional Math. I took stats. For my psych minor. And grumbled the entire frickin' time because I had tarnished my college transcript with a god-forsaken math class.

But here I am, looking at being a financial coordinator. Linda has even agreed, per my suggestion, that if I am going to take on this roll, that I take at least one accounting class (with tuition reimbursement) so I have some background in budgeting and techniques to think around things when we need to pull the gloves on. If it winds up being something I enjoy, it could lead to an MBA, or who knows what else.

Scary. Absolutely frightening.

But if you couldn't gather-- the performance review went fine. Since I wrote a lot of the background myself, and I'm my own worst critic, the negative stuff was no surprise at all. Organizational skills need to improve. Cross-site communication needs to improve. And my ability to jump right in to help solve problems needs to improve, since I usually dread being the one to initiate things. But hopefully the stuff that's down on paper is a sign of good things-- and challenging things-- to come over the next year.

I'm just so thankful that ex-bigger boss is no longer in the picture for this.

~ Mel.

2:08 p.m. - 13 February 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda