measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Geek Prep 101

So Arisia is this weekend. Heh heh heh. And I have birthday money to blow away if I want to. :) Mmmm.... new Ren Faire gear....

No, I probably won't piss away too much money this weekend. Unless I find something I just HAVE to have. A couple trinkets here and there, perhaps. Maybe a new tarot deck. But I don't plan on dropping too much money.

And yes, I realize I say that now. Arisia's dealer's row is like being a kid in a candy store. A big geeky candy store.

Anyway, yesterday afternoon, I pulled up the site and printed out a copy of the current schedule to see what things that I want to go to or participate in. Some of this might change once I see the detailed program tomorrow afternoon, but for now, I have a pretty decent, busy list:

Friday night

7 p.m. "System Choice and Campaign Design"

8 p.m. "Building Boffer Weapons" (maybe-- this is a "what the hell is a boffer weapon?")

9 p.m. "Tarot Discussion"

11 p.m. "Drum Circle" (absolutely, positively will not miss.. it's the only one I attend all year)

Saturday

9 a.m. "Early Morning Writing Exercises" (*cough* If I'm awake)

10 a.m. Higgins Armory Presentation (a MUST NOT MISS... real armor, etc.)

11 a.m. "RPG World Creation" (will probably miss half since Higgins is 90 minutes)

12 p.m. "Dark Fantasy vs. Horror" (or...)

12 p.m. "Design of RPG games"

1 p.m. "Mechanics of Magic" (or...)

1 p.m. "Alternate Language" (or...)

1 p.m. "Monty Python Appreciation" (or...)

1 p.m. "Noreascon 4" (which is the World Con being held next summer in Boston)

2 p.m. "Folklore and Mythology"

3 p.m. "Storywriting Workshop"

4 p.m. "Livejournal and other Blogs" (hah!)

5 p.m. "Urban Fantasy after dark" (depending on description, or...)

5 p.m. "Cats and SF/Fantasy" (or...

5 p.m. "Problem Players"

(long break for dinner, shopping, etc.)

10 p.m. "Writers with Drinks" (I just need to see the description of this...)

11:30 p.m. "Modern Dance" (DJ club dance... mostly gothic 80's music *grin*)

Sunday

11 a.m. "What Makes a Good Villian"

2 p.m. "Writing in Character"

(we need to get outta there and check out- so Sunday's pending.

I bought a new drum last night at a place in Quincy. My dear bodhran (an Irish frame drum, for those who don't know what they are... look 'em up on ebay), which I used last year, is just too uncomfortable to play for a couple hours at a circle. I've decided I'll probably paint and decorate the drum and make it a ritual drum. The bodhran has a 18 inch head surface-- great for painting. If I can manage it, I'd love to paint a labrynth on it, and some tassels or ribbons. It'll probably come out like one of Stevie Nick's tambourines, knowing me. :)

In any case, the new drum is a jambe (Mine is the teal one in the picture). It's a comfortable height to sit right in front of, but it does have a shoulder strap so I can sling it to play. I like the sound-- it's a baritone drum-- not quite a bass. But it has some deep sound. Once I get it warmed up, it should sound nice and full. And unlike my bodhran, this drum has a synthetic head, which requires a bit less care. The bodhran is covered in goat skin, and is just so difficult to maintain.

I'm excited to play tomorrow night. Drumming is one of those things I really reserve only for Arisia, although I wouldn't mind eventually participating in a regular drum circle if I can find one.

Actually, what I'd really like to do is find a drum circle that drums during the summer at the beach. :)

Anyway... I'm psyched about the circle tommorrow night. Arisia is heavily Pagan attended, and the drum circle usually winds up being primarily Pagan, including a few people I recognize from Pagan Pride Day and web lists and such. It's probably one of my favorite events. The first year I attended, they wound up with 30 drums. Last year there were perhaps half that, but it was still quite nice.

*sigh* I can't wait.

10:38 a.m. - 16 January 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda