measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oooh... jingly! (rambling freeverse ahead warning)

I have a nifty bell-covered pentacle chime to hang somewhere, thanks to Minarae. Thank you my dear! It arrived yesterday in the mail. :)

Now where to hang it so that the cats won't be taking a flying leap to try to yank it off the hook moorings...

I've seen these on my trips up to Salem, but never bought one because I was either living with a group of non-Pagans and didn't want to intrude, or was living in The Beast and just didn't have the room to hang it. Now I'm living with Erich, we have space, and it will match the rather eclectic decor (decor?!? Accumulation-via-parents decor?!?) of the apartment.

I don't want to put it out on the balcony, though, because we have a balcony that's pretty easy to climb to, and I would rather it not get swiped. So it'll go in front of a window somewhere where the little bells can jingle with the swirl of a breeze, but still be protected inside the apartment.

Again, we go back to the one problematic element-- cats who like stuff that makes noise, and stuff that's oooh, shiny!.

Like Miss Fizz (said with as much of a stereotypical southern drawl as possible, to capture her proper attitude, of course).

Who is, I'm happy to report, finally back to being herself, save a patch of shorter fur that's still trying to grow after the fluid tube had been in her neck a month ago. Both cats were up to some serious midnight romping last night as Erich and I tried to go to bed. I was run over once by the attacking horde of felines. The problem? Well, it's a couple of things. The first being that she found a rubber band and ate it at some point, either before or during her illness, which was making her puke. Pieces came up about a week ago. Once that happened, she started to settle down. The other issue was getting new food for her, because due to her illness, Pavlovian behavioral theory seems to have taken over because she won't go near wet food (probably because she kept puking it up).

Enter one of the few good things that came out of my trip home-- the discovery of a new food for the cats. Science Diet Sensitive Stomach. Why didn't I know about this stuff earlier? I've got one cat with colitis, and the other one's been puking for a month. I'd say both qualify under the "sensitive digestion" category.

So I picked up a bag at PetSmart, thankful that I don't have to go through Anne's ordeal of having to order it through her vet (being in a more populated area does have its privileges). I mentioned it to my mom, who groaned and said how her cats had hated the stuff.

Turns out, mine think it's the Best Thing Ever.

Not only are they scarfing this stuff like it's going out of style, Fizzy is *gasp* starting to fill out and gain some weight. She doesn't have a chubby belly yet, but her profile (from above) is looking a bit more proportional and healthy. She might actually be at an all-time record of six pounds by now. (amazing, eh? I thought so).

Of course, we know better than to start calling her a fat kitty. She'd claw us in an instant. Just ask Erich what happens when he calls cats stupid. He learned quick.

Perhaps the pentacle chime should go in a place that's too high for the cats to reach, but just tempting enough so they'll do some jumping jacks and get some exercise...

~ Mel.

10:19 a.m. - 07 January 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda