measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

White Friday ramblings everywhere

The snow that was scheduled to end around midnight is still coming down. Flurries only, but it's still snowing. We got perhaps about three to four inches in Randolph, and maybe will get another half an inch or so unless the snow picks up the pace a bit. Everything looks white and serene and all Christmasey. It's pretty. Visibility on the road's down a bit, but everything's in rather good shape. A bit of slush at intersections. Otherwise the roads are quite clear.

Unfortunately, I discovered one of the other reasons why Massachusetts is such a pain in the ass with snow. While I maintain that the idea of the "Hearty New Englander" is a myth, I also have realized those who don't see the snow as a big deal know something that I discovered.

It's not the snow for many people as it is dealing with the Massholes who are afraid of the snow. Long commutes in good weather are dreaded. Particularly when there are time-limit things on the other end, such as... daycare pickup.

Half of my office left by three due to daycare pickups yesterday.

I left a bit before four because there simply wasn't anyone else around that could help me get the crap done that needed to get done. Sure, I had data entry that needs to be done. But really-- why start that at four p.m. That can wait. Right?

Besides, I'm planning on doing the data entry for the last couple weeks of December to wrap up the year, get stuff filed, and clean out my cubicle. Start the new year off right.

My cubicle has become Son of Beast. It's amazing how much shit can fit in a cubicle. The reason why I have so much here comes from being an administrative assistant. We push paper. That's our job. And the problem is that once something gets filed, it is a given that within two days, that piece of paper will be needed to fix a problem. It doesn't matter that it sat in a pile on top of the desk for two months ignored. Putting the piece of paper away triggers the cycle.

So I've attempted to beat the system by leaving the piles on the other side of my cubicle until the end of the year. And much to my surprise, it's been working so far. The issues I've had with vendor payments have all been things that I've never received from art buyers, or things that were messed up at accounts payable. Not a single piece of paper from those piles has been moved since about July or so.

In two weeks, I'll start the end-of-year data entry and filing, and put it all away. Then we'll see if the shit will hit the fan.

Place your bets.

Anyway, I digress. I left work at four. Roads were fine. Traffic was hell. I just don't get it. It was nice, though, to get home early. It threw me off schedule, though. I felt like it was about nine when it was actually seven, simply because I was home so early. [erich] and I curled up on the couch, watched TV, and just had a relaxing evening together. I played some Tropico so I could revel in being el Presidente for a while. I need that power every once in a while. And I was doing quite well.

I may have to infect Erich's PC with the game so I can get the extended versions, since they never came out for my Mac. :) I may have to infect Erich's PC with many games that never came out for my Mac.

Hmmm... *scratches chin*

*sigh* I'm bored. I wanna go home.

11:00 a.m. - 6 December 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda