measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Morning musings over coffee

[erich] had some sort of a stomach bug last night-- we'd met at the 99 in Canton for dinner, but he just wasn't feeling well, so we got everything wrapped up. Stopped by the supermarket to get a few things we're missing in the apartment, and then went home.

He was in bed, wrapped up in his comforter, by 9:30. Dead to the world by the time I came into the bedroom around 10:30. Poor guy.

I hope he feels better today.

I've never enjoyed being an early to bed person, and then early up person, but I have to admit, I've enjoyed it a bit this week. Without TV distractions and internet at home, I've found myself falling into an 11:00-6:45 sleep routine, and am waking up surprisingly refreshed. I'm groggy for about a half-hour in the morning, but by the time I get to the car and drive to Dunkin' Donuts (only about a block away) for my morning cup, I'm feeling amazingly alert, compared to my 8 a.m. stints a few months ago when Erich would pick me up in Boston.

I'm getting to work by quarter past eight-- before most of the people in my office-- and able to just relax, have my coffee, and put my day together. Traffic's congested (but moving) in the morning, so it's about a half-hour trip. Coming home has been a hit-or-miss thing. One day it took me 90 minutes. Another day it took me 15.

I'm liking this plan. This might be a keeper. Particularly since it means I can leave work at 4:30 if I want to. Which will be much nicer for me once October rolls around, and the darkness of Massachusetts Standard Time takes over once again. I hate coming to work and leaving in darkness. But if I'm home after work for most of that darkness, it won't be so bad.

Our apartment is still in bare-bones mode. If Erich had felt better, we were going to do a run to his old apartment to clear more things out of his room. He needs to be out of there by Friday. The majority of my things are still in storage, and I'll probably get as much as possible on Saturday morning, if we don't hit King Richard's Faire this weekend. It's going to be a weekend of getting things settled, unpacked, and somewhat organized.

Ade's getting baptized on Sunday at her church, and I know she really wants Erich and I to go. I have some mixed feelings on it for a variety of reasons (most of which I've talked to her about, and I think she understands some of the reasons), plus I really want to start feeling like I'm living somewhere again, rather than crashing out at a place. Sunday's up in the air, and I know she'll be disappointed if we don't go, but I can't commit to anything other than getting moved in right now, particularly when last Saturday was committed to JT and Tan's wedding.

I'm in serious need of Mel time, and I don't feel that I can give that to myself honestly until we're settled.

Ah well... things will happen as they happen...

Time to get to work.

-Mel.

9:07 a.m. - 12 September 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda