measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Obligatory Anniversary Entry

Prayer For World Peace

By Patricia Telesco

Guardian of all that is Sacred, our world is hurting. People are hurting. War, crime, apathy, and negativity threaten to destroy the wonders of earth and its inhabitants. Reach out from the center of the Universe and motivate the winds of change. Help save us from ourselves.

Today, if you will guide me, I vow my hands, heart, and magic to the goal of world peace. Let me be gentle with myself and others. Let me care for those around me, no matter our differences. Where anger dwells, help me bring harmony; where I see apathy, let me inspire; where there is negativity, help me affirm and uplift.

Before the waves of conflict swell beyond the walls of goodness and decency, help all humankind do likewise. Let the walls that separate come tumbling down, dismantled by honest effort and random acts of kindness. Drop a blanket of peace upon this planet, to wrap us all in wholeness once more. For our children, and our children's children, let it be so.


I am attempting to live a normal life today. Quite frankly, the overhype of the media disgusts me because I feel that it sensationalizes the events of September 11th last year.

I also strongly believe that if I stop and mourn, as it seems I am expected to, that I am caving in to the increasing dictatorship that is our government-- and by doing so, I'm allowing the terrorists to win. By destroying my ability to continue to live my life, they win. Because it was American life they hated so much.

I have mourned at quiet times over the last year. Today, I begin living, looking ahead instead of behind. Because dwelling on the past is a detriment to the future.

--Mel.

10:13 a.m. - 11 September 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda