measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ready to flee

The workday before a holiday is the worst experience in life. Well, okay. Not really. But in a non physically threatening, painful way, it's the worst everyday-esque experience. Every minute of the day is spent watching the clock... praying it will go faster and arrive at the time to fleeeeeeeeeee!

Since [erich] is having his car fixed today, in hopes that it will no longer go over potholes or large bumps and cause my chest cavity to feel like it's about to break (*cough* springs? shocks? What are those?!?), I had to arrange other transportation to work. No shuttle running from the T today, so I needed to find a ride with a co-worker. And of course, almost all of them have run away for the week, to the Cape (that would be followed by the word Cod for those of you non-Massachusetts types), or other distant locations.

Fortunately, Ellen was coming in today, and said she'd meet me in Brookline at Coolidge Corner at 8:15. (note: I normally wake UP at 8. *groan*). I woke up at 6:30 and promptly reset my alarm for 7:00 am and went back to bed. Colley was quite happy to have me make that decision, since he moved from the spot at the foot of the bed to a stretched out position along my stomach, spread-eagle on his back. The alarm went off. I gave him a bit of petting love, and then got ready for work.

Stupidly, I turned on the Weather Channel in an attempt to decide whether I would walk up to the Hynes stop on the T, or take the bus.

7:00 a.m. And it's 82 degrees already.

*groan*

I think that means bus.

Got out of the house at 7:30 and as I turned onto St. Botolph, there was the bus, running past on Mass Ave. *sigh* so I started to walk. After two blocks, I gave up. Too damn humid out. I waited for the next bus to arrive and take me the remaining eight blocks to the train.

Yes, I'm a slacker. But dammit, it's an uphill walk (not steep, but still), and it's hot, and I'm cranky because on any other given day, I'd still be asleep in bed.

Bus finally comes, and then I have to wait at the train station for the C-line trolley into Brookline. It finally comes (five trains later), and I hop on. I get to Coolidge Corner at exactly 8:15. Ellen was most impressed by my timing.

So now I'm at work, sleepy, somewhat decaffeinated since iced coffee just doesn't kick me up as hot coffee does, and ready to go home.

I need to sleep. I need to fleeeeeeeee!!!!!

ACK!

11:16 a.m. - 3 July 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda