measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the internal self image does not comply

Reality sucks.

Particularly when moving large, heavy shelves.

[erich] and I borrowed a friend's truck on Sunday afternoon to pick up shelving units from Pandemonium (a.k.a. Pandy) since they were selling everything off before closing the store for renovations in May. Seven-foot high, about 30-inch wide bookshelves, with adjustable shelves, for only $20. Can't beat that.

So we picked up several, knowing in advance of our move this September that we need a bunch of shelves (would you say I have a plethora of books? �S�, el guapo!). And as my mom says, you can never have too many bookshelves. So we go to pick these up-- a double-bay bookshelf for Erich's roommate, Tone, and four single-bay ones for us.

I helped Erich carry the double-bay to the truck, and despite being quite proud of myself for slowly getting down to the truck, managed to pull my back. Not badly, but enough to make moving a bit of a chore. For some ungodly reason, my brain still has this instinctive idea that I'm 135 pounds and around 18 years old, with no bad ankle. The reality is, of course, that I'm nearly 10 years older than that, and perhaps 10-15 pounds shy of 100 pounds over that. I'm not in good shape. I have endurance-- no problems there. But I have absolutely no upper body strength. Never really did have much, but my leg strength compensated if I needed to carry something. Now I'm starting to falter with the legs as well, particularly because of my unstable ankle, which keeps me terrified of exercising and risking another bad fall.

So when I woke up around 7 yesterday morning, my back just raced with pain. No way in hell would I manage to go to work. Sitting up was rough. I popped three Aleve, called work, and then climbed slowly back into bed. Today, the back is feeling better, but my arms and calf muscles are tight.

Where the hell did that 18 year old dancer's body go?

*sigh*

10:20 a.m. - 30 April 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda