measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When Lich Kittens Attack

Before my dear [erich] sees me at six this evening, I thought I'd put the warning out on the appearance of my hand for the afternoon, and why my hand is rather... gauzy.

It's Fizzy's fault. Completely and utterly this time.

Fizzy loves to climb into the sink while I'm either using the toilet or taking a shower, and try to lick the water drops coming off the spigot (the whole "look what I can do, Ma!" routine to show off). Usually, though, once I'm standing over the sink, she tends to move on to other rooms of the house because actual running water is just bad.

Well, this morning I was brushing my teeth, and was just about to spit the excess toothpaste into the sink, when Fizzy jumped RIGHT into the sinkbowl out of nowhere. And to avoid a Crest and morning-spit covered cat, I attempted to scoop her up and deposit her on the floor in a suave motion.

I'd scooped her up and was on the downward motion to the floor when she quickly wriggled, found a push off point, and leaped from my grasp. Unfortunately that push off point was my palm. And as she is oft to do, her claws were fully extended. (Fizzy has yet to understand the pain those daggers cause. Or maybe she does. Either way, they're extended quite a bit). Unforrtunately, with all of the motion going on, she managed to get a pretty good tear in there-- decently deep-- three parallel scratches.

I squirted and rubbed in a bunch of that anti-bacterial goop from CVS right away, which stung like hell. But cat scratches ALWAYS get infected since they use their claws in the litter box, and I didn't have much faith in the quick cleansing.

Over the day, it's started to throb a bit, and my palm turned a very angry red color around the scratches. I needed to find something a bit better. One of my co-workers had a first-aid kit in her car that she uses when they go fishing, and brought it up. After a bit of iodine, white gauze, and medical tape, I look like I got some sort of a burn on my hand. But at least my fingers are still free, so I can type.

But yeah... Mel's gone stumpy for the day... again.

Long live the klutz.

Yeesh.

2:49 p.m. - 25 April 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda