measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tax day

Like a good little soldier, I went to the South Station post office and mailed my taxes at 11:50 p.m. (along with poor Erich, who tried to fight through the mayhem that is parking down by the Big Dig). Granted, we had until midnight today to get our taxes in-- that whole nifty Patriot's Day exception from the April 15th norm and all-- but I didn't want to deal with crowds today.

I almost kicked myself this morning when I picked up my mail before going to work. There was NO ONE in line at the counter.

*sigh*

Ah well. They're done. They're in. I paid my $130 between State and Fed taxes for the year. At least I didn't get penalized for being late.

I was amazed at the number of people frantically working at the folding tables lining the post office corridor last night, desperately trying to get their taxes done. Some people were doing them in the line for the postal clerk. Granted, I waited to turn them in. But I got them done early. I just didn't feel like giving the government extra money until the very last minute.

I don't understand how people could possibly get their taxes done so fast, standing in line at the post office. Now-- I have an easy return. I just have my W2. Nothing else. No other forms. Straight, simple, no problems. It took me the better part of two hours to translate the supposed English in that instruction book.

The US tax code is a disaster. I found it ironic when I was watching CNN, or MSNBC... or one of those stations, anyway, this weekend-- and the head of the IRS admits he has someone else do his taxes because of the complicated code.

Does anyone else see a problem with this fact?

[erich]'s roommate, Tone, says that by paying this money, I make out well because I didn't give the government an interest-free loan. But I do every year anyway-- my social security is an interest-free loan for the government. I disagree with him. And considering that I can't take tons of deductibles like wealthy people do, screw the interest free loan-- I want some of my hard-earned money back. Particularly when I know what it's going to these days. Writing a check to Dubya's disorganized war effort sickens me.

But that's just me.

We'll see what happens with next year's taxes.

3:52 p.m. - 16 April 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda