measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

parental duties to fuzzball no. 1

** Warning... discussions of ill felines below. Do not read if you're not interested in gory details of illnesses. ***

It's been one of those off-centered days caused by a sense of responsibility and too much stuff to do at once. I'm tired. I really am. I want to crawl into bed after work, but I still have far too much to do, and considering that it's only 4 p.m. and I'll be at work for another three hours and change, I just feel like this day is lasting forever.

Part of the reason I'm so tired is my own damn fault. I went over to [erich]'s last night to do some work on my characters for a new game that's based in his homebrew world, but is being run by one of the other players, Anthony, since Erich decided to take a break from DM'ing for a while.

Well, we finished character development, and the guys watched WWF. I think I annoyed them by asking, "So.... where's so-and-so?" too many times. It's been about three years since I watched any of the WWF, and that was mainly because both LGM and Avatar watched it while we were living in Egremont. It was on, so therefore I watched.

ANYWAY... WWF finishes at 11 p.m., and then I stayed for another half hour to watch the guys play video games. Erich knew that it was far too late for him to drive me all the way back to Boston, so he dropped me off at the T in Braintree so I could catch the train home. Turns out that I was catching the very LAST orange line train home from Downtown Crossing by the time I got back into the city, so the train sat at the station for a good 15 minutes. I didn't get off the T until well past 1 a.m. Came home and crashed out. Up at about 8:30 this morning.

For the past couple weeks, [erich] has been driving into the city, picks me up, drives to work, and then we make the mad dash in the middle of the road to switch positions so I can drive the car out to work. This morning was just the same, but instead of going straight to work, I headed back home, grabbed Colley, stuffed him in the carrier (literally... this cat doesn't exactly enjoy going into the pet sherpa bag), and headed off to the vet. My poor baby has been sick with some intestinal bug since last week, although other than the diarrhea, you'd never know he was sick. He's eating fine, using the box, and having impressive romps with Fizzy around the apartment. It's just that bloody stool gives me the warning bells to get him to the vet.

Thankfully, no parasites. Sample came back negative. The vet checked him over, and gave me a descriptive term that as he felt Colley's stomach and abdomen, his intestines felt "goopy." Sounds promising, doesn't it? *sigh* He also gave me a look as he pointed out that my two-and-a-half-year-old cat has lost three of his tiny front teeth. I don't think he actually ever had them, to be honest. He does need a tooth cleaning, but I don't recall him ever losing a tooth. *sigh* So my purebred cat has some bad genes. Goddess knows the breeder wasn't exactly the most sane sort of woman. Who knows what she's doing over there?

Anyway, they checked him out, gave me some anti-diarrheal meds to give to him through Friday, and said that if it didn't improve, to bring him back. Hopefully that won't have to happen. Poor baby.

So after about 90 minutes and $75 later, I was heading back home to drop Colley off, get changed, and head out to work. I finally got here around 1, and I already feel like I've been here since 7 a.m. *yawn*

I'll be here until around 7 or so. Then I gotta run over to Marshalls nearby and see if they have photo albums for my mom's present, and something that I could get my step-mother for Christmas. I was going to get her a little flavored olive-oil sampler gift basket from a cute little shop on Newbury Street in the city, but I don't know if I'm going to have time to get up there tomorrow evening before [erich] and I go see Lord of the Rings. I may have to just get her something else. Hopefully they'll have something cute at Marshalls. Otherwise I'm going to start scraping in a huge way to figure something out for her.

Ugh... need coffee....

4:00 p.m. - 18 December 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda