measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And when October goes...

I know a lot of people will cringe at the name Barry Manilow... but as I was riding the T today and watching the trees that have changed colors only since last week, one of his songs from about 20 years ago stuck in my mind. It's been stuck in my head all morning, so I figured I'd "virtual-hum" it for a bit...

    And when October goes

    The snow begins to fly

    Above the smokey roofs

    I watch the planes go by

    The children running home

    Beneath a twilight sky

    Oh, for the fun of them

    When I was one of them

    And when October goes

    The same old dream appears

    And you are in my arms

    To share the happy years

    I turn my head away

    To hide the helpless tears

    Oh how I hate to see October go

    I should be over it now I know

    It doesn't matter much

    How old I grow

    I hate to see October go

October in New England is a magickal time of beauty, festivals, and cozy slumber. The days are still warm enough to tolerate without any sort of jacket, and the nights get cold enough to snuggle under a warm comforter. Signs of autumn are everywhere--besides the famous leaf colors (which I still am astounded by every year), you'd think Halloween was an offical commonwealth holiday here in Massachusetts. Decorations everywhere. Mixed in with that, put King Richard's Faire and Spooky World (two seasonal attractions for September-October), and of course... finishing off the month is Samhain, which isn't necessarily the most sane time to be up in Salem, Mass. Trust me. Been there. Done that.

Every year in October I go into some self-reflection. It's a natural process. As the leaves fall from the trees, the feeling of desolation and barrenness grow. Samhain is the religious New Year for many Pagan traditions, and like many people do on December 31st, October 31st is a day to think back over the year and what was.

Because of all that has happened lately, my reflection has begun at the beginning of the month with the full moon cycle that will complete itself on Halloween night. Reflecting on the roller-coaster year of friendship with LGM, meeting Erich, adopting Fizzy, starting this journal and meeting people through it, and just trying to store things in the history cupboards within my mind.

October is a cozy time of year. It's my time to make things right before the Earth goes to sleep until spring. And even though it's only the third day of the month, I feel like it's already going away....

10:44 a.m. - 3 October 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda