measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blessed (belated) Mabon

It's Monday... I'm at work, putting coffee back into my system. The company's having server problems... what else is new. :) It's funny in a way, because it's a sign that life is definitely back to normal after the past two extremely off-kilter weeks.

Celebrating Mabon never quite had such a importance, or personal impact, for me as it did this weekend. A day of balance, of equalness, a celebration both of life and death. And as all of the Sabbats around the year, a sign that Nature goes on in Her endless cycle, regardless of the events happening upon Her body.

I'm one of those Pagans who generally doesn't do big rituals to mark the Sabbats. I have a full Book of Shadows of rituals I wrote in my first three or four years of Pagan practice... ones which fit my needs at the time, but don't seem to apply to me these days. I stop and pause for a short time on the Sabbats, or make a point of having something symbolic fall within my routine for the day... marking a subtle observance as time continues to pass. While there are times I still need those bigger, more formal rituals, I've found more beauty in simple passages of time... short observances that are brief glances to warm the heart and soul that Father God and Mother Goddess are there, watching over us all.

This Mabon, I celebrated balance by returning to my weekend routine and enjoying the early autumn beauty in New England. I spent the night on Friday at Erich's, went gaming on Saturday, and had the fortune of spending time with the man who I love more each day. We kept commenting on the beauty of the trees which are just hinting of color. We joked about the fog that is starting to roll in during the midnight hours now, and how it's a sign of Halloween coming soon (which is, after all, about as heavily celebrated in New England as Christmas is).

Essentially, I put my life back into balance this weekend by rediscovering my cozy routine. And while I didn't do anything specifically religious, it had a spiritual impact that made me feel tremendously better about myself and my connection to the Gods.

After all... it's the connection, not the outward practice, that counts. Correct?

Bright Blessings,

Mel.

10:17 a.m. - 24 September 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda