measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Irony, sweet irony

Damn new template... damn envy.nu... won't let me upload that cat file. *sigh* Well, until I send in my money to pay for the hosting here at d-x, I'll go back to my tried and true Full Moon Graphics template (which I do love... I just needed a change with the seasons).

So... let's discuss irony, shall we?

First off, if you haven't read Charlene's journal recently, go do so. Particularly her comments from yesterday about a certain Washington Post article. Then read the responses she got, one being from one of the teenagers whose journal was in that Washington Post article, and the nastiness from that little girl about Charlene's fully sarcastic, irony-filled entry about the uses of an online journal. In fact, then go read the teenybopper's weblog about the incident. It truly shows the true colors of the girl, who resorted to commenting on the length of Charlene's account name (again, a fitting title of Are We There Yet?). She has three kids, all of which are either in or soon to be in their teens. It makes me remember the button my dad used to wear that said "Please be kind, I am the parent of teenagers." Sheesh.

Bottom line on journals? We all get out of them what we want to get out of them. Obviously some are for self-exhibition (why ELSE would one have a web cam on a journal... seriously?). Some are for personal reflection, and are kept locked (a perfectly valid and available option, I might add). Some, like mine, are a mixture of reflection, social commentary, and the need to find other kindred souls.

Since I left a message in the girl's journal about how she completely missed the point of Charlene's entry, I don't doubt I'll be getting flames from some of her readers, and possibly even the girl in question. *shrug* To be honest, I could care less. I dished some of it out, and I'll welcome it back. Because my journal isn't about getting me stuff, or being an exhibitionist, or being popular. It's about me writing my feelings and my observations of the world around me. And hey... I damn well know my views are mine and mine alone. *shrug*

The irony in the whole situation is how stupid it is. Pointless. Nastiness from teenagers that a person's site sucks because they didn't design the graphics or the layout, or that they don't have a ton of hits so they must not be popular. YES, I realize that I'm talking about teenagers here, and how I've discovered one of those newer pheonomena... the online teenage clique. The need to be popular in the internet world with a bunch of people you don't know... but dammit, hits mean that you're popular and that you've BECOME somebody, right? Sheesh.

Gag me with the hypocrasy, will ya?

-Mel.

10:09 a.m. - 7 September 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda