measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rainy day, go away...

9:44 a.m.

In my six block walk to the T this morning, I saw all of the following precipitation:

--rain

--snow

--sleet

--hail (different than sleet in appearance and pain factor)

I agree with my co-worker Paul, who emitted a fantastic whine on the elevator as we came up to the office. I couldn't agree more. (upon complimenting Paul on his amazing ability to whine, he said he'd been practicing it for years. *snicker*)

This is most definitely a pj's in bed sorta day. Colley even had that idea. Once I'd done the morning bathroom routine and hopped up onto bed to catch the news and weather, he jumped up on the bed and stretched out right in the middle of my lap and zonked out on his back for about a half hour, holding my hand down to his tummy. He's so cute. I didn't have the heart to just get up and get stuff done, so we had a mommy-kitty bonding period this morning for snuggles. I love it when he's that snuggly.

Well... if this slop doesn't clear out, it'll make for an interesting moving day tomorrow. (groan). I'll make sure to throw in some extra clothes to change into, since LGM is planning on running his D&D campaign tomorrow after we get JT and Tan moved. I wonder how large of a group we're going to have for this thing.

Which reminds me... I gotta get my spellbook updated for the Great Reset campaign next weekend. (roleplaying characters and such to be fleshed out at a later date... I've never really written about them).

My arm's feeling better after last night. I couldn't believe how unusually drained I felt. I guess it's just part of giving platlets rather than whole blood... probably the length of time sitting in the chair. I have just a tiny sore spot on the inside of my elbow where the IV needle was (the needle was HUGE!!!!). Next week I'll have them use the other arm to give my right one a rest. I've donated from both of them, so it's not a big deal. (I feel like a legalized druggie talking about needles in my arms. Sad, isn't it?)

Off to do payroll. I'll add more to this entry around lunch....


12:35 p.m.

Every time it rains like this, I immediately think of an movie/special... whatever it actually was... I saw on HBO in the early 80's. Ever see "All Summer in a Day?" It's probably a short story in some sci-fi anthology somewhere. I'm pretty sure it is. I don't remember any of the names or the specific details of the story, but it goes something like this: It's about a girl and her classmates who are living in a colony on Venus, and she's the only one in her class who was born on Earth. Well, once every seven years or so, the clouds around Venus break for one day, and in that day summer explodes. Other than that, it's miserably gloomy, grey and raining all the time. Being from Earth, the girl has experienced sunny days before, but her classmates haven't (we're talking kids who are first or second graders here... I was the same age when I saw this thing). The classmates tease her for being different and for her "outlandish" descriptions of flowers and blue skies and such (if I remember correctly, anyway), and manage to lock her inside an empty room in the compound in their teasing, much like the temporary torture of being thrown in your locker in high school. Soon after, the sun breaks out, and the students in their awe of the sun forget that the girl is still locked in the dark room. She spends the entire "summer" locked up, seeing only a sliver of sunlight coming through the window, which she lets drape over her outstretched hand. After an afternoon of running through the fields of flowers (don't ask me how they bloomed instantly... but they did.. it was the weirdest thing), the clouds thicken, and the drops of rain begin to fall. The students return to the school/compound, and realize that the girl is still locked up, and let her out. She runs out into the rain, letting it pour down over her face as she cries for having missed it. Out of remorse, her classmates pile her with all of the flowers that they gathered.

But it's the dismal grey of the rain that gets to me. It probably struck me at the time since there really aren't the grey, dismal days in my hometown in Montana. We had rain, but not for days on end like what happens here in the Northeast. When the rain just keeps coming down, and the clouds are so low that they're brushing the buildings, it feels like the sun will never come out again. Sometimes I feel like I've forgotten what the sun feels like. A stupid part of me always gets oddly fearful that I'll never see the sun again. I have no idea where it comes from, either.

Ugh... the weather. I swear, I really should be diagnosed for Seasonal Affect Disorder (and who the heck decided to give it that name so it would be abbreviated to "SAD," anyway. Because there's no way it was by chance). I probably wouldn't be so down about the weather, except that the weather in Boston has just SUCKED all month. Between about 20 inches of snow and at least 5 inches of rain (and counting), ugh... just... man, get the late-spring warmth here, please? I'd like to enjoy a bit of it before the humidity button flips up on June 1st.

I'm changing the title for today. I originally had it as "Out like a lion," but that'll probably become tommorrow's title. Or actually, more accurately, probably Sunday's since I'll be up for an 8 a.m. pick up from Jason to get started on the big move.

We have to be out of the office at five today--they're cleaning all of the carpets in the building (finally!!! Thank god). Ironic that they're choosing such a yukky day outside to clean carpets. But I'll take anything. I don't think they've been steam-cleaned since I started working here in August. That works out just fine for me, since I need to get over and pay my cable bill before they close tonight... gotta make sure my cable stays on for X-Files on Sunday night (I already know what happens, I'm such a spoiler-whore... but I wanna see how they're going to pull off Mulder's "death"). Maybe I'll manage to get a ride with someone so that I don't have to go through the production on the T. With all of this rain, they'll probably be sandbagging the entrance to Kenmore station again anyway.

Off for coffee and getting some stuff done so I actually look like I'm being productive for the day....

9:44 a.m. - 30 March 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda