measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, isn't that speh-shal

First: I'm more level-headed than I was at this point yesterday morning.

Second: The two people (one troll, one online friend) who basically told me to fuck off.... I'm sorry you don't recognize a kneejerk rant when you see it. We all have them. Consider what I've been praying for for the past four years to happen and what I've been activing working to change. You'd have a kneejerk reaction, too, when all of your time and energy didn't result in what you wanted to happen.

Mind you-- that doesn't translate to "wasted." The time was most definitely not wasted. To say what would be to ignore and counteract every passion I've had about political subjects since the year 2000.

Third: To the one person who demanded that I essentially not exist in their world-- I've respected your wishes. I disagree, and hope that when you calm down, you'll change your mind. But that's your mind to change. *shrug* I hope you eventually realize that, but that's something you have to do. Until then, I've done as a friend would do-- and respected your wishes.


Contrary to what many people think about Kerry supporters. I voted FOR Kerry. The disagreements with Bush led me to seek out another candidate. That was the catalyst to look elsewhere. In Kerry's platform, I found what I considered a reasonable amount of ideals that I agreed with. And the ones that I didn't agree with were either strongly felt, or in my mind not thinks that I considered cons that outweighed the pros for him. I liked that there would be a representative both of the upper class (Kerry) and someone who came from the lower class and worked his way up (Edwards). We had four options here in Massachusetts for president. I didn't vote against Bush. I voted FOR Kerry.

He lost. It happens. Someone has to in any vote. And my kneejerk reaction was to be extremely upset, intensified by early morning exhaustion after staying up past midnight the night before, watching the news and hoping and praying...

It didn't go the way I wanted it to. *shrug* I vented. I move on.

I'm here. I'm not moving to Canada or Australia, or whatever country would take my sorry ass. I survived the past four years of Bush's presidency. The next four years will be ones that will be frustrating. But as is often said-- if you don't do anything, you can't bitch. So I will work for what I believe in and do my part to help push liberal ideals forward because it's what I personally feel is right to do.

I'm a woman, a Pagan, and extremely pro-choice (for obvious reasons). I have gay relatives, gay friends, and parents of friends who are gay. I live in the great state of Massachusetts which has recongized equal marriage rights for everyone. I am an adoptee with divorced parents. I over-criticize myself to do the right thing all the time. I donate to the police charity fund. I donate to Children International, where I sponsor a girl in the Dominican Republic and a girl in India. And I donate platelets, which save peoples lives.

I will continue to fight for what I believe in and try to make this world a better place.

If that bursts your bubble and rubs you the wrong way, hey... I respect that. But that doesn't mean I'm going to change for you. I have friends and relatives who are extremely conservative, carry guns, think abortion should be illegal, and perhaps even think privately that I'm a sorry human being for the faith that I hold. As long as they don't publically kick me specifically, for having different beliefs than them, we're all cool. NO ONE believes in the exact thing another person does. We're not clones.

For those who think I'm demon scum and should go to hell for my beliefs... I'm bringing the throw pillows to decorate the hell couch and my stash of drinks for the inevitable fantastic party. I'll have a lot of company from wonderful, hardworking, lifeloving people of all creeds, religions, and nationalities.

Off to work and face the day. Because it's a beautiful bright one out there-- and I'm going to go out there with my eyes looking dead ahead.


8:49 a.m. - 04 November 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda