measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New England Autumn (lots of pics)

Last weekend Erich and I enjoyed a beautiful autumn weekend together. The weather was perfect for leaf peeping- and the leaves are bordering on peak colors now (although with last night's rains, a lot were knocked off the trees). It's become an annual event to drive up to the area around Concord-- we've done it every year, I think.

Two years ago we discovered a fantastic cheese shop in historic Concord called, simply, The Cheese Shop. Imported cheeses from everywhere. Imported chocolate from Switzerland, Belgium, and Germany. Wine. Frou-frou munchies-- all that fun stuff. We go back to this place for two specific items-- their homebrew Pub Cheese and the imported rum balls, which Erich swears he got drunk eating.

No rum balls to be had this year. But we walked out of there with a pound tub of pub cheese, crackers, a bottle of Chianti, lots of chocolate, and two wedges of expensive Italian cheese (one mild, one strong-- both to die for, and I'd have to read the label at home to tell you what they are). One we didn't get, but I want to go BACK and get was the Belgian Gouda with mustard seed.

yum yum yum.

Anyway... total cost ran up somewhere in the mid $70 range, but oh, what a feast.

After hitting the Cheese Shop, we decided to start driving around to see things before the sun set. We went back into Minuteman National Park (which really is all around Concord) and went over to the Old North Bridge to see if the leaves were changing there. They weren't really-- but it still was pretty, so we walked down by the riverbank for a bit, got some pictures of ourselves and a rather greedy flock of Mallard ducks, and then headed back to the car.

We were a bit disoriented in the roads that are Concord, and kept missing the road that went over to Sleepy Hollow Cemetery. But the drive was enjoyable-- there are so many pretty old homes in Concord, and both Erich and I do the "I want that one!" game as we drive around and see them. At one point, we came across a field that just screamed harvest. For some reason it's a bit blurry (I was standing still, honest), but it's still a great shot:

Off the picture in that field was a pyramid of harvested pumpkins, but I would have had to trespass to get the shot. I did want to grab one of the pumpkins that were half tilled over in the dirt-- I wonder if they harvest them all, or let the pumpkins reseed themselves every year.

I've mentioned Sleepy Hollow Cemetery before in my journal before... but I always misplace the camera before I get the pictures developed. This year, the digital camera solved that issue at least:

This shot is at the valley level of the cemetery, looking away from Authors Ridge (where Louisa May Alcott's family, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, an Henry David Thoreau are all buried). It's a beautiful place, very serene and peaceful-- especially in autumn.

The sun was starting to go down at this point, so we decided to head home. We stopped at a roadside farm to pick up some apples, cider, and pies (mmm... pie.). Purkis and Kelly Ann came over that evening, and we enjoyed munchies, drinks, and a movie.

On Sunday, we got up and gussied up for King Richard's Faire. With new strings, I fit-- barely-- into my bodice. (I think Erich loves pulling me into that thing). The weather was again perfect in the morning, although it did rain for part of the day (making me keep my arms crossed over my chest, as I was wearing a white chemise... and the top of my bodice is at just that height that I'm constantly worried about busting out of it). Rain prevented the entire tiger show from being performed, so no oohing and ahhing over the golden tabby tiger or the liger this year. They did bring out tiger cubs that were six months old-- and another young tiger that was a year old. They also brought out a mountain lion (which purred for us... awww....) and a wolf (which was new to the show).

Tone and Robin spent the day trying to resist the urge to start buying garb. They failed miserably. But next year we won't be the only ones dressing up for the Faire. :)

Erich got "knighted" again by chucking double-bladed handaxes at targets, and hitting the heart. I have no idea how he does that. I can't even lift one of the damn things, let alone throw it.

But yes, we reveled in our geekness. Aren't we cute?

And that was our long weekend of celebrating New England. This weekend? Moving Erich's dad to New Hampshire.

10:39 a.m. - 15 October 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda