measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pagan Pride Day

For the first time in several years, I attended Pagan Pride Day. I'd been debating going-- mostly out of anxiety than anything else-- but in the end decided to just go for a couple hours, look around, etc. Most of all, I wanted to go to the drum circle and experience a Pagan-related one (as opposed to the generic geek ones at Arisia). I managed to get Erich to come with me-- more out of a "hey, let's go for a drive on a Sunday afternoon" than anything else.

And it was a beautiful afternoon-- bright sunshine, upper 70's weather. Perfect day for a Sunday drive to Middleboro. Pagan Pride Day this year was held at Pratt Farm, which is an old farm-turned-recreation area that was a perfect spot for the event.

There were about a dozen vendors at PPD-- mostly selling stones and smaller trinkets. There were some beautiful Reiki symbol stones that I wanted and hope to pick up one of these days when I'm not po'. Not a lot in the way of clothing this year-- a few pieces here and there, but no cloaks (which I'd hoped to find).

I ran into Ron, who I'd met probably about 6 or 7 years ago now through an online mailing list for Massachusetts Pagans. I'd hoped years ago to possibly learn from him and have him and his wife take me under their wing, but the realities of life adjustment from college to work got in the way, and then the emotional issues of my mid-20's really got in the way. I said a quick hi and introduced him to Erich. But he was pretty busy with work for the event, so we didn't talk long.

After Erich and I finished skimming over the vendor tables, we went for a little walk in the woods-- Pratt Farm has several trails for walking and biking that go back into the heart of the woods. It was lovely back in the trees. I'd like to go back to this area again sometime just to talk a long walk on a crisp autumn day-- I'm sure it would be beautiful.

We circled back just in time for the drum circle. There was a great turnout-- a couple dozen people ranging from small kids to an elderly woman. At first I felt out of place, as the drumming started more with chanting than just a few drum rhythms like at Arisia, but I quickly got used to it. Most of the chants were ones I know, but I've found that I simply cannot chant and drum at the same time if I want to keep a rhythm. (and honestly, I'd rather drum... I find it much more meditative and comfortable than using my voice). The circle went on for about an hour before it petered out. Even with the last four people, we kept a pretty comfortable rhythm going. Erich relaxed behind me under the trees-- he was a bit too chicken to drum. (I'll get him at Arisia)!

On the way back to the main area where the vendors were set up, though, I stepped down into a tire rut and torqued my ankle around. (grrrr). We decided to head home, rather than wait the hour for the closing ceremony. I was a bit worried about the severity of the twist and wanted to get some ice on it, despite putting up the brave front that I always do. It didn't really hurt walking back to the car, but I know that endorphins after an injury can be both a blessing for pain and a curse for lack of pain. I wanted to get home, get off of it and get some ice on it just in case. Thankfully it isn't bad at all-- a bit of swelling and brusing, but I can put my full weight on it and haven't needed to take any pain killers.

I spent the majority of the remaining afternoon hours making amusement park cars blow up on poorly designed rollercoasters in Rollercoaster Tycoon.

*shrug*

All in all a fun day. And I'm glad I went. Next year I'll make sure to stay for that ritual, though.

10:37 a.m. - 13 September 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda