measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Summer-ey Patriots Day

I've decided I want to be back in college-- for the sole reason that I would automatically have this day off. Or even be living in The Beast for one day-- since I'd be three blocks from the finish line of the Boston Marathon and therefore have an excuse not to go to work.

Patriot's Day, how I miss you.

*sigh*

After months of freezing weather, all of a sudden we're getting a ONE DAY summer. It's supposed to reach the mid to upper 80's today. Completely out of the blue.

And then tomorrow it'll be back in the 50's again.

Chinook winds apparently hit this area of the country as well. I thought they were only a Montana/Dakota phenomenon.

Needless to say, I'm trying to think of ways to play hooky this afternoon. It shouldn't be that hard-- I think I'm one of five people here from my department. A lot of people took it off thanks to working other holidays so far this year.

We'll see. *shrug*

I'll have to be careful about it, though-- I'm already leaving early tomorrow to donate platelets downtown (since it's a two-hour procedure). Although Linda won't be here today.. so I might be okay.

In any case, Erich and I are planning to take advange of the warm day (and evening) and go for dinner together in the North End-- romantic Italian on a warm spring night. Can't beat it.

I was trying to figure out how the hell I'd park in the city on a day like today... but perhaps I'll just leave early, park the car at one of the outer T stops, and take the train in-- thereby saving the stress of parking (and city expense).

Hmm... the possibilities.

In other news-- I'm about ready to kill my youngest cat. Gus has gone on a destructive streak that I've never encountered with another cat. *sigh* Granted, Gus is one of two cats that I've ever had that still has his front claws.. the other one being Fizzy, who is a proper little girl and never would dream of such things.

But Gus is the cat that every pet owner fears-- because it teaches you what you're in for should you ever want children. We've done everything-- the squirt bottle, loud noises, yelling... he doesn't give a shit. He does what he wants to do. I wish grounding a cat would work.

He's now managed to make an absolute wreck of the carpet in front of Jason's bedroom. Why? Because Jason sleeps with his door closed. And at 4 a.m., Gus WANTS to go into that bedroom. So he starts ripping at the carpet.

And this wakes ME up, but no one else in the house-- including Jason who is sleeping less than five feet away.

Nine out of the last ten nights, this has happened. The only reason it didn't happen all ten was because we slept over at Purkis' house on Friday night.

And I'm such a shitty sleeper to begin with-- this interruption is NOT GOOD.

I've been tempted to open Jason's door and let him deal with it, but that will open another can of worms. I've already talked to Jason about it, and his response is "well, he'll start knocking shit around in here, and I don't want to wake up."

Great. So instead... I have to.

Joy.

We currently have my old bedsheets strewn around the hallway to cover the carpets, but it's not helping-- Gus figured out where the edges are.

I've thought about getting the plastic roller mats that you use on carpet for desk chairs... but we'd have to get them custom cut for the hallway.

We're going to attempt those soft paws things that coat the nails... hopefully those will help.

But if that doesn't, fuck it. I'm taking him in and getting those damn claws taken off. I don't care if it's not PC. It's crueler to give him up because he's destroying furniture than making adjustments so he can live safely in the home.

~ mel.

9:42 a.m. - 19 April 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda